Implementation Science Scholar Program

The Implementation Science Scholar Program funds faculty interested in learning more about how to implement new practice guidelines and/or other implementation or de-implementation approaches that will improve medical care.

Using the principles of implementation science, the program includes 10 didactic sessions per year, as well as oversight and mentoring for experiential implementation science projects. The two-year program will provide 20% salary support and prepare faculty to publish the results of their implementation science projects. Scholars who want to pursue research grants to expand on their accomplishments would receive assistance from the UAMS Center for Implementation Research.

The program is open to all UAMS faculty, including at Arkansas Children’s Hospital.

Current Scholars

Kapil Arya

Kapil Arya, MD
Assistant Professor, Division of Pediatric Neurology
Department of Pediatrics
Arkansas Children’s Hospital/UAMS

“Implementation of newborn screening (NBS) for Spinal Muscular Atrophy (SMA) and operationalizing appropriate patient management”




Jonathan Goree


Johnathan Goree, MD
Assistant Professor and Director, Division of Chronic Pain
Department of Anesthesiology, UAMS

“Implementation of safe post-operative opioid prescribing at University of Arkansas for Medical Sciences”






Emily Kocurek, MD
Assistant Professor, Division of Pulmonary & Critical Care Medicine
Department of Medicine,UAMS

“ICU Liberation Bundle”






Debopam Samanta, MD
Associate Professor and Interim Section/Service Chief, Division of Pediatric Neurology
Department of Pediatrics
\Arkansas Children’s Hospital/UAMS

“Quality/implementation gap in epilepsy surgery evaluation”





Megha Sharma, M.D., FAAP
Assistant Professor, Division of Neonatology
Department of Pediatrics, College of Medicine
Arkansas Children’s Hospital/UAMS

“Minimizing Iatrogenic Blood Loss and Reducing Cost of Lab Testing in Very Low Birth Weight (VLBW) Nneonates by Raising Staff Awareness and Optimal Use of EMR”



Contact: Cindy Mosley,