The Western States Consortium, which includes the UAMS Translational Research Institute (TRI) and three other Clinical and Translational Science Award (CTSA) institutions, issued the call April 3 to all faculty for pilot award applications.

In addition to TRI, the Western States Consortium members are the University of Kentucky, University of New Mexico and University of Utah, all part of the national CTSA consortium, supported by the National Institutes of Health (NIH) National Center for Advancing Translational Sciences (NCATS). (Note: The University of Kansas Medical Center has withdrawn from this pilot program.)

The purpose of the pilot awards is to promote inter‐institutional collaboration by funding innovative, translational research projects that involve two or more of the four Western States Consortium members.

Awards of up to $25,000 will be provided by each participating institution. The total funding available for a particular collaborative project will depend on the number of participating institutions and the level of funding that each institution devotes to the program.

The cover page and letter of intent are due by noon, April 24, 2017, at The application deadline is 5 p.m., July 1, 2017. The funding cycle is from Nov. 1, 2017, to Oct. 31, 2018.

For additional details, view the Request for Applications (RFA) document and the letter of intent form and guidelines. If you have any questions, please contact Nia Indelicato at or 501-614-2287.

The 2017 inter-institutional RFA is the fourth pilot funding opportunity by the Western States Consortium.


Download Request for Applications


Download Letter of Intent